Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Leadership Program Seeks Applicants

June 28, 2012
The Maui Weekly

The Ka Ipu Kukui program completed its fifth year and is now seeking applicants for the class of 2013.

A Decisions Maui and Focus Maui Nui initiative, the Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows program is a year-long program designed to help develop and train future leaders not only to identify challenges, but more importantly, to overcome them. After five highly successful years graduating a total of 59 individuals, plans are to have an even better year six.

"We have incorporated input and suggestions from the fellows to continuously improve the program," said Dr. Lori Teragawachi, director of the program.

Article Photos

Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows

Currently applications are being accepted for the Ka Ipu Kukui 2012-13 Fellows program.

"Ka ipu kukui" means "crucible of light; a test and a furnace for seeking and taking the best path ahead."

"Maui Nui occupies a special place in the state, country and world," said Scott Nunokawa, Ka Ipu Kukui steering committee member. "But as all of us know, we face many challenges that could very well erode the unique splendor of these special islands."

From concerns and beliefs expressed first by Decisions Maui in the 1980s and reinforced by the 2003 Focus Maui Nui visioning process (, the Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows program was conceived to provide significant help in identifying and training leaders through a community-based program specifically designed to address all aspects of planning for Maui Nui's future.

Topics such as Maui's water, energy, tourism, food sustainability and governance represent just a few of the issues in which participants will be actively engaged. The program will require two to three days of participation monthly. Only 12 to 15 fellows will be selected through a competitive process conducted by the members of the Ka Ipu Kukui steering committee. The deadline for applications is July 16.

Steering committee members include: Sandy Baz, Roselle Bailey, Rory Frampton, Dr. Teragawachi, Scott Nunokawa, Stanley Okamoto, Ken Ota, Clyde Sakamoto, Lianne Yoshida, Kalani Ho, Yarrow Flower, Rhiannon Chandler and Jeanne Skog.

The 2012 graduates of Ka Ipu Kukui Fellows Program are: Ashley Carroll, Fiona K. van Ammers, Joshua Porter, Kristofer Baptist, Leonard Smock-Randall, Lono Dunn, Marc Antosch, Michael Silva, Monica George, Spencer Lau, Timothy Lara and Troy Hashimoto.

If you are interested in this program or know of an individual you would like to nominate, contact Dr. Teragawachi at 984-3406 or visit for an application.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web