Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Maui’s state Democratic incumbents persevere

November 15, 2012
The Maui Weekly

The Maui News - In other Maui legislative races, Democratic incumbents in contested races held on to their posts against Republican challengers.

House District 10, West Maui: Incumbent Angus McKelvey beat Chayne Marten by a 64 percent-29 percent margin. That was 4,245 votes to 1,952.

"I'm so thankful for all the support we've received. It means a lot to me," McKelvey said. "I'm so humbled, I'm sort of at a loss for words."

He pledged to continue working for the West Maui community.

Senate District 6, West and South Maui: Longtime incumbent Roz Baker defeated Bart Mulvihill by a margin of 67 percent (9,784) to 25 percent (3,709).

"I'm very pleased with the turnout," said Sen. Baker. "I think it's an indication of the support that I have in the community for all of the community service and staying in touch. They know that I have done my best to get results for them on issues that matter. I'm very pleased to be representing South and West Maui again at the state Senate."

House District 12, Upcountry: Incumbent Kyle Yamashita defeated Ekolu Kalama.

Yamashita received 7,444 votes, or 73 percent of votes, to Kalama's 20 percent (2,069).

House District 13, East Maui, Molokai, Lana'i, Kaho'olawe: Incumbent Mele Carroll was re-elected with 68 percent of votes (5,771) to challenger Simon Russell's 25 percent (2,126).

The following Democratic Maui lawmakers were either unopposed or secured re-election during the primary election: Sens. Shan Tsutsui and J. Kalani English; and Reps. Joe Souki and Gil Keith-Agaran.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web