Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Home RSS

Maui County Announces Outstanding Older Americans for 2013

May 23, 2013
Maui Weekly

The Maui County Office on Aging, Aging and Disability Resource Center has announced the winners of the 45th Annual Outstanding Older Americans of Maui County.

Richard Endsley was selected for his service to the West Maui community. He has served as President of Lahaina Intermediate School's Education Foundation and its After-School Tutoring Project. He also volunteers for the Lahaina Restoration Foundation, the Lahaina-Honolua Senior Citizens Club, the Lahaina Town Action Committee and Lahaina Hongwanji.

Diane Logsdon of Kula was selected for her service as treasurer, community service chair and president of the AARP Kula Chapter. She also serves as recording secretary for Maui Economic Opportunity's Senior Citizens Planning and Coordinating Council, and the Pu'unene Branch of the Maui Friends of the Library, where she also edits the monthly newsletter.

Article Photos

Richard Endsley and Diane Logsdon were selected as the 2013 recipients of the Outstanding Older Americans of Maui County award for their many contributions to the community.
Photo: County of Maui, Ryan Piros

The awards were presented at a luncheon on Tuesday, May 7, at the Maui Beach Hotel's Elleair Rainbow Ballroom.

May is recognized nationally as Older Americans Month, when elders across the nation are recognized for their extraordinary efforts and contributions to society.

Every year since 1968, older adults in Maui County have been celebrated for their contributions and achievements. This year's Older Americans Month theme, "Unleash the Power of Age!" acknowledges the value older adults continue to bring to their communities.

Wendell Crockett was the first Maui County recipient of the prestigious award in 1968. Last year's awardees were Michelle Paularena of Kahului and Mathew Napier of Ka'anapali. To date, 89 older adult volunteers have been recognized for their outstanding contributions to Maui County.

Endsley and Logsdon were selected from a field of 11 Maui County residents who are at least 65 years of age. Other nominees honored at the luncheon included Henry K. Allen, Artemio C. Baxa, Takeo Miyaguchi, Pasita Pladera, Fred Ruge, Julie Shiotsugu, Ali Thompson, John Tryggestad and Robyn Walters.

The nominees and winners received congratulatory certificates from Mayor Alan M. Arakawa and Gov. Neil Abercrombie's Maui liaison, JoAnn Inamasu.

The winners received engraved koa clocks from the Maui County Office on Aging, Aging and Disability Resource Center, and certificates from the Hawai'i State Legislature from House Speaker Joseph Souki and Sen. Roz Baker, and from the Maui County Council from Chair Gladys Baisa.

For more information, contact Jan Roberson at 270-8221.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web